Saturday, March 17, 2007

Rep Lisa Billy to Co-Chair Native American Caucus

Members of the Native American Caucus of the Oklahoma Legislature will be led by a bipartisan duo this year, officials announced today. State Rep. Lisa J. Billy (R-Purcell) and state Rep. Jerry McPeak (D-Warner) have been elected caucus co-chairs for the 51st Legislature.

The Native American Caucus of the Oklahoma Legislature, the first in state history, formed in 2006. The group selected officers this week, based on an organizational framework provided by the National Native American Caucus. In addition to naming Billy and McPeak co-chairs, the group also named the following officers:

* Secretary: state Rep. Anastasia Pittman (D-Oklahoma City)
* Spiritual Counselor: state Rep. Scott BigHorse (D-Pawhuska)
* Advisory Team: BigHorse, state Rep. Shane Jett (R-Tecumseh), state Rep. Ken Luttrell (D-Ponca City), and state Rep. Paul Wesselhöft (R-Moore).

The nonpartisan, 17-member Native American Caucus formed last year to educate the House membership about Native American issues and develop closer relationships with leaders of the state's 39 tribes. The group also holds information luncheons sponsored by various tribes to allow tribal leaders to meet and mingle with state lawmakers.

Source: House of Reps Public Information Office

No comments:

Post a Comment