Wednesday, August 13, 2008

The Journal Record's "50 Making A Difference" 2008 Honorees

I apologize for not posting this sooner. Back in late July, The Journal Record (which, incidentally, has several news blogs) announced the 50 women to be honored this September at their Woman of the Year Banquet. Their "50 Making a Difference" publication and the Woman of the Year awards gala (now in its 28th year) are a special tribute to Oklahoma's leading women. The publication includes full page biographical portraits of the 50 honorees and acts as the program for the Woman of the Year black-tie event. This year's event will be held on September 25, 2008 at the Cox Convention Center. I hope you all will buy a ticket and come to the banquet because it is a fabulous evening.

Here are this year's honorees:
* Jennifer Anderson, ASE Productions Inc., Oklahoma City.
* LaRita Aragon, University of Oklahoma-College of Continuing Education, Edmond.
* Dana Birkes, The Flintco Companies Inc., Tulsa.
* Mary Blankenship Pointer, UMB Bank, Oklahoma City.
* Laura Boyd, Policy and Performance Consultants Inc., Norman.
* Mary Clare Buthod, Monte Cassino School, Tulsa.
* Carolyn Caudill, Oklahoma County, Oklahoma City.
* Umi Chahal, Choice Home Health/Hospice Inc., Oklahoma City.
* Andrea Chancellor, AEP-PSO, Tulsa.
* Ashley Christofferson-Cunningham, brass brick homes, Oklahoma City.
* L. Sheryl Colton, Colton & Associates, Oklahoma City.
* Elizabeth D. Tyrrell, McAfee & Taft, Oklahoma City.
* Lee Denney, Oklahoma State House of Representatives, Cushing.
* Freda Deskin, ASTEC Inc., Oklahoma City.
* Janice Drewry, Star Performance Inc., Lawton.
* Shannon Edwards, Monnet, Hayes, Bullis, Thompson & Edwards/ Osage Nation, Oklahoma City.
* Robyn Elliott-Scribner, The Chickasaw Nation, Ada.
* Robyn Ewing, Williams Companies Inc., Tulsa.
* Celine Ferguson, Coppermark Bank, Oklahoma City.
* Michelle Finch-Walker, Oklahoma Forest Heritage Center, Broken Bow.
* Jeanne Gillert, The Anne & Henry Zarrow Foundation, Tulsa.
* Carol Gray, The Children's Center, Bethany.
* Noma Gurich, Oklahoma County District Court, Oklahoma City.
* Debbie Harrison, Oklahoma Environmental Management Authority, El Reno.
* Deborah Horrocks, Hertz Corp., Piedmont.
* Liz Hunt, Hunt Media and Marketing, Tulsa.
* Carole Kenner, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center- College of Nursing, Oklahoma City.
* Lou Kerr, The Kerr Foundation Inc., Oklahoma City.
* Karen Langdon, Legal Aid Services of Oklahoma, Tulsa.
* Janet Levit, University of Tulsa College of Law, Tulsa.
* Elaine Lyons, South Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce, Oklahoma City.
* Melanie MacDonald, World Neighbors, Oklahoma City.
* Kay Martin, Francis Tuttle Technology Center, Oklahoma City.
* Elizabeth Ann Nalley, Cameron University, Lawton.
* Susan Paddack, Oklahoma State Senate, Ada.
* Janet Peery, YWCA Oklahoma City, Oklahoma City.
* Nellie Perry, Perry, Gentry, Perry, and Marsh, Stillwater.
* Toni Pickle, Pioneer Telephone Cooperative Inc., Kingfisher.
* Tammy Powell, St. Anthony Hospital, Oklahoma City.
* Avis Scaramucci, Nonna's Euro-American Ristorante & Bar and Painted Door, Oklahoma City.
* April Sellers White, District Court of Creek County, Sapulpa.
* Brooke Smith Murphy, Crowe & Dunlevy, Oklahoma City.
* Carolyn Stager, Oklahoma Municipal League, Oklahoma City.
* Cheryl Steele, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond.
* Suzann Stewart, Tulsa Convention & Visitors Bureau, Tulsa.
* Terry Stuart Forst, R.T. Stuart Ranch LLC, Waurika.
* Carolyn A. Taylor, Rogers State University, Claremore.
* Pamela Troup, St. Anthony North, Oklahoma City.
* Angela West, CB Richard Ellis/Oklahoma, Tulsa.
* Terri White, Oklahoma Department of Mental Health & Substance Abuse, Oklahoma City.

1 comment:

  1. 1) Laura Boyd gets my vote.
    2) Why is your name NOT on this list?