Friday, December 10, 2010

Rep Anastasia Pittman Honored at Asia Society Banquet

State Rep. Anastasia Pittman was honored at the Asia Society of Oklahoma’s Annual Award for Excellence Banquet as the Outstanding Civic Leader.

The banquet also honored Jacqueline Sit as Outstanding Asian American, the Japan America Society of Oklahoma as Outstanding Member Association, and Melencio R. Linga as Outstanding Individual Member.

“It is an honor to be recognized alongside Ms. Sit, Mr. Linga, and the Japan American Society of Oklahoma,” Pittman, D-Oklahoma City, said. “The banquet celebrated the 25 years during which the Asia Society of Oklahoma has developed a sense of community among Asian Americans and the people of Oklahoma through an exchange of ideas, information, culture, and experience.”

Xuan “Spring” Kim Nguyen, a former president of the Asia Society of Oklahoma and Senate staffer, said she nominated Pittman because of her active interest in the Asian communities of Oklahoma.
“We have always chosen a good leader who is involved in the Asian community,” Nguyen said. “Some leaders, you never see their face. Anastasia Pittman has always been present at events in our community. She shows that she cares.”

Nguyen served as president of the Asia Society of Oklahoma in 2003 and from 2008 to 2009. She said past Outstanding Civic Leaders have included Governor-elect Mary Fallin, Lieutenant Governor Jari Askins, and Department of Human Services Director Howard Hendricks.

The Asia Society of Oklahoma is comprised of member organizations representing nine Asian countries – China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Philippines, Taiwan and Vietnam. The Asia Society organizes three events annually – the Asian Festival in May, a Taste of Asia in August, and the awards banquet in November. This year’s banquet was held Nov. 6, 2010 at the Sheraton Hotel.

Pittman was appointed by former House Speaker Chris Benge (R-Tulsa) to the House International Development and Tourism Committee in 2008 after being nominated for it by former state Rep. Shane Jett (R-Tecumseh), chairman of the committee.

Source. Oklahoma House of Representatives, Media Division, December 7, 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment